G12 student awarded winner of the National Young Scientists Competition


On Saturday 28 and Sunday 29 March 2020, the video interviews between the Jonk Fuerscher and the members of the jury of the 49th national "Jonk Fuerscher" competition took place. This year, 66 participants from 38 innovative projects in a wide variety of fields such as biology, chemistry, physics, computer science, engineering, social sciences and psychology took part in the competition organised by the Fondation Jeunes Scientifiques Luxembourg and defended their projects before the expert jury. 

Sydney Dam, Grade 12 student, was awarded the winner of the National Young Scientists Competition for her project on the antiseptic properties of saliva in dogs. Well done Sydney. The young aspiring scientist is now preparing to present her results at the London International Youth Science Forum (LIYSF) at the Imperial College of London. 

Read Sydney's interview here

Out of the 66 participants of the National Young Scientists Competition (Jonk Fuerscher), 21 students were from ISL and distinguished by the jury:

  •  Alex Cowan
  • Seongmin Park
  • Sarah Mackel
  • David Lawyer
  • Etienne Leroy 
  • Charlotte Scheideler
  • Sydney Dam
  • Xiaomeng Zhong
  • John-Glenn Binsfeld
  • Henry Mace
  • Eric Calhoun
  • Massimo Ciccarello
  • Steve Mendeleev
  • Alice O'Driscoll
  • Allison Harger
  • Alina Liedtke
  • Daisy Lean
  • Laurine König
  • Amelia Hatch
  • Valentina D'angelo
  • Marieke Corthouts

Congratulations to all students who took part in the competition on your accomplishment. 

Here are all the results of the national competition "Jonk Fuerscher 2020"







See also